In 1983, the Conseil des Arts de Hearst reached respectable and sustainable momentum. This young organization, whose mandate is to promote arts and culture, was gradually making its mark in the community of Hearst. Programming played an important role in promoting the performing arts to meet the tastes and needs of the people. Yet, a whole dimension of cultural life remained in the shadows. Visual artists didn't have the visibility they dreamt of. There were no art galleries in the surrounding area. The directors at the time desired to meet this need but lacked the funds, making it impossible to even consider the possibility of setting up such a project. The process also involved a significant amount of time. The Conseil des Arts de Hearst, which had only one permanent staff member, didn't have the staff to move forward in this endeavor.

 

 

One of the directors was eventually replaced in order to devote more time to this project. In addition to searching for a suitable space, she had to find funds to pay rent and staff to keep the gallery open to the public. She never despaired because "It is by seeking that we find".

 

Mr. Raoul Vaillancourt and his wife, Alice ensured the realization of this dream. They provided to the Conseil des Arts de Hearst a space located at 815, rue Edouard. This space, an unexpected gift, was a garage that served as a carpentry workshop and showroom on two occasions. The walls were big, empty, and they allowed the artists to use nails! In addition to this, Mr. And Mrs. Vaillancourt were not demanding about the rent. The Conseil des Arts de Hearst could not have found more understanding and cooperative owners.

 

The first exhibition took place in December 1983. The public response was encouraging. The works of Mr. Clément Bérini were the first to be put on display; this proved to be an excellent choice as a first stepping stone. Some paintings were sold, and everyone was happy. All that was left to do was to find a way to make reception hours for the community and the employee. Finally, it was decided that some hours would be assigned to the employee while a group of volunteers were willing to split the hours between them at a weekly schedule. The programming, that is to say a monthly exhibition, was finally established.

 

 

Thanks to the Conseil des Arts de Hearst's location (being close to two schools and being easily accessible), the CAH boldly decided to start adding educational content to their regular programming. Although modest, the participation of the two school boards was a secure form of funding.

 

 

Finally, the garage officially became 'Galerie 815'. Mr. Vaillancourt installed new lighting, a carpet on the floor and he used jute to cover the walls; the nail holes became invisible! The set-ups now took half the time they did before! Unfortunately, after a few months of enthusiasm, the volunteers began to find this task too time-consuming. To keep up with the need for a stable presence at the gallery, the directors had to rearrange and renovate the interior. A wall was built, allowing the gallery to have a separate office space. A large window replaced the garage door.

 

 

The gallery was located at 815, rue Edouard until the spring of 1990, when it was moved to the Centre communautaire et culturel des Chevaliers de Colomb de Hearst, now called 'Place des Arts de Hearst' since October 2010.

  • icon-fb-b
  • icon-messenger-b
  • icon-ig-b

Conseil des Arts de Hearst

Heures d'ouverture

11 h 30 à 16 h 30

 

75, 9e Rue

Hearst (Ontario)  P0L 1N0


Directions

705-362-4900

info@conseildesartsdehearst.ca

© 2020 Conseil des Arts de Hearst. Tous droits réservés.

En 1983, le Conseil des arts de Hearst a atteint une vitesse de croisière respectable. Ce jeune organisme dont le mandat est de promouvoir les arts et la culture prend graduellement sa place dans la communauté de Hearst. La programmation joue un rôle important dans la promotion des arts de la scène pour répondre aux goûts et aux besoins des gens. Pourtant toute une dimension de la vie culturelle demeure dans l’ombre. Les artistes en art visuel n’ont pas la visibilité dont ils rêvent. Il n’y a aucune galerie d’art dans les environs. Les directeurs de l’époque ont bel et bien le désir de répondre à ce besoin mais les fonds manquent pour envisager la possibilité de mettre sur pied un tel projet. La démarche implique également une somme importante de temps. Le Conseil des Arts de Hearst, qui a une seule employée permanente à son service, n’a pas le personnel nécessaire pour aller de l’avant dans ce domaine.

 

Un des directeurs se fait remplacer afin d’y consacrer des énergies particulières. En plus de chercher un local adéquat, il lui faut d’abord trouver des fonds permettant de payer la location et du personnel pour maintenir la Galerie ouverte au public. Elle ne désespère jamais car "C’est en cherchant que l’on trouve". M. Raoul Vaillancourt et son épouse, Alice assurent la concrétisation d’un rêve. Ils mettent à la disposition du Conseil des Arts un local situé au 815, rue Edward. Ce local, un cadeau inespéré, est un garage qui a servi d’atelier de menuiserie et de salle d’exposition à deux occasions. Les murs sont grands et il est permis d’y planter des clous! Par surcroît, M. Et Mme Vaillancourt ne sont pas exigeants concernant le loyer. Le Conseil des Arts ne peut trouver de propriétaires plus compréhensifs.

 

La première exposition a lieu en décembre 1983. Un vernissage est un évènement nouveau et intrigant: la réponse du public est encourageante. Ce mois consacré aux œuvres de M. Clément Bérini est un excellent tremplin. Quelques tableaux sont vendus: tout le monde est heureux. Il reste à solutionner le question des heures d’accueil. Certaines sont confiées à l’employée tandis que les autres sont comblées par un groupe de personnes bénévoles qui se relaient selon un horaire établi à chaque semaine. La programmation, c’est-à-dire une exposition mensuelle, est établie.

 

Grâce à son emplacement situé tout près des écoles et facilement accessible, le "CAH" met audacieusement en place une programmation éducative. Bien que modeste, la participation des deux Conseils scolaires est une forme de financement assuré.

 

Le garage devient officiellement la Galerie 815. M. Vaillancourt installe un nouvel éclairage, une moquette sur le plancher et il habille les murs de jute... les trous de clous ne paraissent plus! Les montages sont doublement facilités. Malheureusement ce qui devait arriver arriva... après quelques mois d’enthousiasme les personnes bénévoles commencent à trouver lourd ce rôle qui leur est confié. Pour suppléer au besoin d’une présence stable à la galerie, les directeurs ont du réaménager l’intérieur pour répondre à la nouvelle situation. Un mur est construit, permettant un espace bureau et un espace galerie. Une grande fenêtre remplace la porte du garage.

 

La galerie est située au 815 de la rue Edward jusqu’au printemps 1990, moment où elle déménage au Centre communautaire et culturel des Chevaliers de Colomb de Hearst maintenant appelé Place des Arts de Hearst depuis octobre 2010.

  • icon-fb-b
  • icon-messenger-b
  • icon-ig-b

Conseil des Arts de Hearst

Heures d'ouverture

11 h 30 à 16 h 30

 

75, 9e Rue

Hearst (Ontario)  P0L 1N0


Directions

705-362-4900

info@conseildesartsdehearst.ca

© 2020 Conseil des Arts de Hearst. Tous droits réservés.